New CBO Score indicates 22 million Americans would lose coverage under the Senate Better Care Reconciliation Act

12 Patient/Consumer Groups Urge Senate to Vote No/Reject the bill

June 26, 2017 Categories: Advocacy News

Washington, D.C., June 26, 2017 – A nonpartisan coalition of patient and consumer groups representing millions of Americans issued the following statement today in response to the release of the Congressional Budget Office’s (CBO) score of the Better Care Reconciliation Act of 2017 (BCRA) pending in the U.S. Senate: 

“The nonpartisan Congressional Budget Office’s score of the Senate’s Better Care Reconciliation Act of 2017 shows that 22 million Americans will lose coverage by 2026. We call on the Senate to vote ‘No’ on this bill that will do irreparable harm to patients, particularly those living with chronic illnesses.

The Senate’s Better Care Reconciliation Act of 2017 was drafted behind closed doors without input from patients and other stakeholders. It fails to prioritize patient needs and protect the most vulnerable Americans. If enacted, it would repeal critical patient protections afforded by the current law, making coverage more expensive and less comprehensive for far too many. The Senate should reject this ill-conceived bill and start over.  Our organizations are prepared to work with Congress on a new bill to ensure all Americans have affordable, accessible, and adequate coverage.”  

###

Media Contacts:

American Heart Association

Abbey Dively

Abbey.dively@heart.org

202-785-7905

American Lung Association

Allison MacMunn

media@lung.org

312-801-7628 

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Jessica Rowlands

jrowlands@cff.org

240-482-2857 

March of Dimes

Cindy Pellegrini

mediaadvocacy@marchofdimes.org

202-659-1800

Lutheran Services in America

Rachel Kerestes

rkerestes@lutheranservices.org

202-499-5846

National Health Council

Jennifer Schleman

jschleman@nhcouncil.org

202-973-0550

National MS Society

Eileen Curran

eileen.curran@nmss.org

617-719-3202

WomenHeart: The National Coalition for Women with Heart Disease

Tom Murphy

tmurphy@womenheart.org

202-464-8781